Book Launch – Transgressive: A Trans Woman on Gender, Feminism, and Politics

 

“Taking unerring aim at the patriarchal transphobia that saturates our lives, Williams’ piercing insights and vivid personal accounts capture the heartbreak and the hope of existing in this world as a transgender human being.” Author: Zinnia Jones, creator of Gender Analysis

“Rachel Williams’ Transgressive should be required reading for human beings. Her skillful interweaving of autobiography and theory not only radically improves our understanding of sex and gender, but also manifests kindness and wisdom on every page. I have never been as entertained by something so fundamentally helpful.” Author: Jon Cogburn, Louisiana State University Department of Philosophy, author of Garcian Meditations and (with Mark Silcox) Philosophy Through Video Games

“Williams writes with exceptional clarity and candor about some intellectually and emotionally difficult subjects, and somehow she manages to do so in a voice that is equal parts confident and modest. It would be hard to exaggerate how much I learned from this remarkable collection of essays.” Author: Christopher Heath Wellman, Professor of Philosophy at Washington University in St. Louis

I am so excited for my book to launch on May 21st, 2019! This has been a long time coming. I’ve poured my heart and soul into this book and I hope it starts many new conserversations in the discourse surrounding trans identities.

The book is a collection of 40 short essays about everything from trans feminism, the metaphysics of gender, to autobiographical notes about my own transition. What does it mean to be transgender in modern America? How do passing politics affect internalized transphobia? How can feminism be made more intersectional? Do trans women have male privilege? I tackle all these questions and so much more.

The book will be sold on Amazon, in bookstores, and other sellers starting on May 21st!

1 Comment

Filed under Books, Gender studies, Trans studies, transgender

One response to “Book Launch – Transgressive: A Trans Woman on Gender, Feminism, and Politics

  1. Hi Rachel. Read your impressive book which I bought at our “radical” Lighthouse Bookshop here in Edinburgh, Scotland, UK early July – so soon after launch! You said you appreciate comments. Mine are too many to type here, but the gist is “well done”. I take away your ideas on acorns and butterflies – I’m the latter myself, and appreciate your philosophical approach – my approach has been spiritual and psychological, so interesting new views. I had a few mental adjustments through reading your ideas, and I consider myself so lucky to be in Scotland, so much more liberal than USA. I don’t have the same need to defend myself or enter the sex/gender debate, and am well supported and socially accepted. I loved your Simone de Beauvoir quote on becoming woman – after four years transitioning I’m beginning to become comfortable as woman without the constant edginess I had when first “passing” (your word usage – not one I like, I agree it has overtones of subterfuge, and my aim in transition was to identify and become my real self). We have much in common despite the vast distances between us in geography, life experience, age, probably most things. But, well done, and every good wish for future success and happiness. Much love, Diane.

    Like

Leave a Reply